Just my Luck

“The truth is my slowness is not a fault or a sin, but fighting it might be. I tend to think my limitations are my burdens but perhaps they are actually my gifts if I’m willing to see them that way.”    – Simply Tuesday by Emily Freeman

I’ve found myself lately yelling out “Just my Luck” every time I don’t get the results I want. It might have started somewhere in junior high when I had to run the mile and I couldn’t even run it in 12 minutes. How embarrassing right? Every kid in my class was watching as I huffed and puffed my way around the track and I FAILED. How was it so easy for all of them? As immature as it sounds, I blamed God. How come they all got to be created athletic and I got thick gymnastic legs and smoker lungs?!

That may sound insane but I bet you do it. You get frustrated with what God has given you when you see what he’s given your neighbor. Proverbs 16:9 says “We can make our own plans, but the Lord determines our steps.” I have my days where I know that I am not in control. When I watch person after person excel in life and I just cry out asking God why he would want me here of all places? It’s hard to see what He has given you when all you want to focus on is what he hasn’t.

Moses was 80 before he saw the burning bush and was called on by God. For 80 years God was equipping him with characteristics that would one day be utilized. Take a look at Jeremiah; he had no money, no family, no friends, and he was ignored by the people of Judah. We all look at ourselves sometimes and think of how much better life would be if we had more of those things. It’s easy to get caught up in “Well if I just had more…… I would be happy.” But though Jeremiah had nothing to offer it seemed to his peers, he had so much to offer to God. In his obedience, faithfulness, and righteousness he was a success in the Lord’s eyes.

Do you ever take a second everyday to offer your masterpieces and your MESSES to God? For years, I was bitter about circumstances in my life until I realized that I had been instilled such patience towards people because of it. I’m talking.. “10 minutes late for work but still let the other car out in front of me” patient. And what a blessing it is to know that my messes and my circumstances were stepping stones God used to equip me for works of art in the future.

Here is a prayer from the book I quoted above, Print this out or write it on an index card and tape it to your mirror. Remind yourself everyday that you are unique for a reason.

“We confess our tendency to look for our identity in every face but yours. We long to know how we measure up compared to someone else. Take our comparison and give us compassion, for others as well as for ourselves. Reveal to us our eight-foot assignments and remind us that we aren’t responsible to control the world, only to bring the cares of those eight feet into your capable hands. Help us to embrace the shape of our own design, being ever mindful that you have made us as we are even as we are being transformed into your likeness. May we stop trying to wring out our own brand of humanity. Rather may we trust you to show yourself through our unique personalities.”

peace and blessings XOXO

Leave a Reply

