Spiritual Skinny Jeans

Today I cheated on the thing I told myself I would be 100% committed to because it would “make me feel so much better”. No, not my fiancé you crazy people. I cheated on my diet. I caved faster than I could even realize the consequences of my actions and basically licked all the calories off of my plate. In the moment, it was what I wanted; I indulged. But after an hour I felt more guilty than I have felt in a long time. And I got to thinking that maybe my relationship with temptations in this world and my obedience to God wasn’t so different from my diet.

Think of it this way, when we decide to be a follower of Christ we decide to be obedient to His word. Let’s refer to that as our “spiritual skinny jeans” if you will. Maybe your jeans fit a little too snug and you’ve decided to be obedient to what God wants you to do instead of listening to your own conscience. There is a difference between your conscience and the Holy Spirit… but that’s a blog post for a different time and different day. Anyway, so you want your spiritual skinny jeans to fit and you want to walk comfortably on His path for you. You begin to exercise your relationship through prayer, community, and passages and grow your faith.

HERES THE MOST IMPORTANT PART. The world will never stop throwing Earthly temptations your direction. Just because you’re on a diet doesn’t mean Lisa won’t eat that slice of cake in front of you in the break room (Darn you Lisa). It parallels with, just because your friend goes out and parties every night doesn’t mean you have to tag along. If you continue to feed yourself earthly junk food and give in to what your body tells you it wants, you’ll always be trying to fit God into places where you haven’t left room for him.

Here’s another way to view it too. A lot of us think that as long as we choose God at any point that it’s okay. I’m not saying that he doesn’t give us grace because oh boy is he so good to us in that aspect. We are so fortunate that our God sees our ugliness and our steps off the path and still calls for us to follow him. But, when we try to live our life the way WE want and fit him in when it’s convenient, are we truly being as obedient as we should be? You can’t buy a pair of size 0 skinny jeans when you know your a size 6 and expect them to fit.

“If you think you are standing strong, be careful not to fall. The temptations in your life are no different from what others experience. And God is faithful. H will not allow the temptation to be more than you can stand. When you are tempted, he will show you a way out so that you can endure.” – 1 Corinthians 11:12-13

Paul gave the Corinthians such encouragement about the temptations of the world. God helps you recognize the temptation and then the courage to face it. Surround yourself my darling with friends who love God and offer his word as a way to curb your appetite from the temptations you face everyday. They will never go away, but you will get stronger. God has your back. I have your back. You are so loved by the Lord our God.

peace and blessings XOXOX

Leave a Reply

